PDGA Discussion Board  

Go Back   PDGA Discussion Board > PDGA Topics > Rules & Standards

Rules & Standards PDGA Rules of Play, etiquette and tournament standards

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 25 2016, 11:38 AM   #1
acekiko
Membership Expired
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 5
Default stolen disc

We were playing a round the other day with a small bet on the round. We all take our drives and I proceed where my disc should be and it is not there. Some spectators tell us that a small group of kids pick up my yellow disc and took off with it. I had to redrive and the question was whether I should take a penalty stroke. We all agreed that an intentional act by the boys in taking my disc should not penalize me . I redrove minus the penalty stroke. Was this the right call?? thnx
acekiko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29 2016, 08:30 AM   #2
cgkdisc
PDGA Member
 
cgkdisc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Twin Cities, Minnesota
Posts: 6,336
Default

Yes, you can re-throw with no penalty including not counting your original throw per 804.03E.. Your re-throw counts as your first throw, not second. Or, the spectators could help you locate where your disc landed before being stolen and you could just continue playing from there per 804.03C.
__________________
Rater of the tossed arc.
cgkdisc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 07 2016, 08:28 PM   #3
bombmk
PDGA Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acekiko View Post
We were playing a round the other day with a small bet on the round. We all take our drives and I proceed where my disc should be and it is not there. Some spectators tell us that a small group of kids pick up my yellow disc and took off with it. I had to redrive and the question was whether I should take a penalty stroke. We all agreed that an intentional act by the boys in taking my disc should not penalize me . I redrove minus the penalty stroke. Was this the right call?? thnx
No need for a rethrow.

You play from where the group believe the disc established its position.

http://www.pdga.com/rules/official-r...3-interference

Point C:
A thrown disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to its approximate position (see 802.02.E). A marker disc at rest that has been moved shall be replaced to mark the approximate lie (see 802.03.F).

804.03 E only covers intentional interference by a player - and only if it altered the course of the disc. If it had come to rest, that is not applicable in any way.

Last edited by bombmk; Oct 07 2016 at 08:34 PM.
bombmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

© 2008-2017 Professional Disc Golf Association. All rights reserved.